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FAQ: 2013 Mandatory Continuing Education for Psychology
(MCEP) Regulation Change and You

1: When does the change take place?

A: January 2013. If your license expires in 2012, report your CE credits as you have done
for prior renewals. If your license expires on or after January 2013 you will be
responsible for keeping your own CE certificates and will self certify that you have met
your CE requirement on the license renewal form. Self certification means you are
asserting, under penalty of perjury, that you have met the minimum CE requirement
during the past two years. Misrepresentation of compliance is grounds for disciplinary
action.

2: What actually changes in 20137
A: 1) The BOP will randomly audit to verify CE compliance. You will not be required to send
your certificates to anyone, unless required by the BOP. 2) You are responsible for
keeping these records in case you are selected for an audit. 3) California Psychological
Association approved CE sponsor courses can be used (as well as APA and
ACCME/CME) to accrue hours. 4) The BOP will no longer waive the CE requirement
for out-of-state licensees.

3: Am | still responsible to earn 36 CE credits each licensing period?
A: Yes. There is no change to the 36 hour CE requirement for license renewal.

4: What should | do with my CE records?
A: Keep your CE records in a safe place so you can produce them upon request.
Do not include any CE certificates with your renewal form or send them to the Board of
Psychology unless you are selected to be audited. At the time of an audit, the Board will
send you the instructions to comply with its request.

5: How long do | need to keep my CE records?
A: CE records should be kept for a minimum of two to three renewal cycles (4-6 years.) If
you practice in an area where a complaint could be filed at an even later date (e.g., child
custody evaluators) we recommend that you keep records for a longer period of time.

6: Where do | go for further information or updates?
A: More information is available on the BOP’s website (www.psychboard.ca.gov), the
MCEP website (www.mcepaa.org) and the California Psychological Association’s
website (www.cpapsych.org).

7: What happens if | reported some of my hours to MCEP and don’t
have copies of the CE Certificates.
A: The BOP will accept an MCEP Educational Record as sufficient documentation. If you
do not have a copy of your educational record, request one from the MCEP Accrediting
Agency before it closes on Dec 31, 2012.



