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Consider Proposed Amendments to Examination Regulations, Title 16, CCR
 
Sections 1388, 1388.6, 1389 and 1392
 

Article 4. Examinations
 

§ 1388. Examinations. 
(a) The Bboard recognizes the expertise of the Department of Consumer Affairs’ 
(DCA) Office of Professional Examination ResourcesServices (OPERS). The bBoard 
shall utilize the services of the OPERS in licensing examination development and 
validation through an interagency agreement. 
(b) Prior to licensure, aAn applicant shall successfully take and pass the licensing 
examinations prior to being licensed. The licensing examinations shall consist of the 
Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards’ (ASPPB) Examination for 
Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP), and the California Psychology Laws 
and Ethics Supplemental Examination (CPSECPLEE) except that the EPPP and the 
CPSE shall be waived for those applicants who meet the criteria in section 1388.6 of 
this chapter. Such applicants shall be required to take and pass the California 
Psychology Law and Ethics Examination (CPLEE). 
(c) An applicant is eligible to take the EPPP upon completion of a qualifying 
doctorate degree and 1500 hours of qualifying professional experience. An applicant 
shall pass the EPPP and complete all 3000 hours of supervised professional 
experience prior to being eligible for the CPSE or the CPLEE, whichever is 
applicable, pursuant to section 1388.6. 
(d) Upon application, the board will notify applicants of their eligibility to take the 
EPPP. Applicants are responsible for completing any administrative requirements for 
taking the EPPP established by ASPPB or its agent, including paying any fees. This 
subsection applies to those re-taking the EPPP as well as to those taking it for the 
first time. 
(e) For forms of the EPPP taken prior to September 1, 2001, the passing score is the 
score that was recognized by the Bboard at that time. For computer administered 
forms of the EPPP, the Bboard shall apply a scaled score of 500 as recommended 
by ASPPB. 
(f) Qualified applicants desiring to take the CPSE or the CPLEE, for those 
applications who qualify for a waiver of the CPSE pursuant to section 1388.6, shall 
submit to the board the fee set forth in section 1392 of this chapter. Applicants shall 
comply with all instructions established by the DCA examination vendor for taking 
the CPSE or the CPLEE. 
(gf) The passing score on the CPSE and the CPLEE shall be determined for each 
form of the examination by a criterion-referenced procedure performed by OPERS. 

§ 1388.6. License Requirements and Waiver of Examination. 
(a) When a California-licensed psychologist has been licensed for at least five years 
and has allowed his/her license to expire cancel by not renewing the license for at 
least three years, the psychologist shall not be required to take the EPPP or the 
CPSE. 
(b) If an applicant for licensure as a psychologist has been licensed in another state, 
Canadian province, or U.S. territory, for at least five (5) years the applicant shall not 
be required to take the EPPP or the CPSE. 



         
         

            
             

      
          

         
           

         
               

         
     

           
          

          
               

           
      

          
           

           
         

 
 
    

             
 

            
      

 
    

      
        

 
         

 
          

     
              

            
               

               
 

         

(c) An applicant for licensure as a psychologist who holds a Certificate of 
Professional Qualification (CPQ) issued by the Association of State and Provincial 
Psychology Boards (ASPPB), shall not be required to take the EPPP or the CPSE. 
Such an applicant shall be deemed to have met the educational and experience 
requirements of subdivisions (b) and (c) of Code section 2914. 
(d) An applicant for licensure as a psychologist who is credentialed as a Health 
Service Provider in Psychology by the National Register of Health Service Providers 
in Psychology (NRHSPP) and has been licensed based on a doctoral degree in 
another state, Canadian province, or U.S. territory for a minimum of five (5) years 
shall not be required to take the EPPP or the CPSE. Such an applicant shall be 
deemed to have met the educational and experience requirements of subdivisions 
(b) and (c) of Code section 2914. 
(e) An applicant for licensure as a psychologist who is certified by the American 
Board of Professional Psychology (ABPP) and has been licensed based on a 
doctoral degree in another state, Canadian province, or U.S. territory for a minimum 
of five (5) years shall not be required to take the EPPP or the CPSE. Such an 
applicant shall be deemed to have met the educational and experience requirements 
of subdivisions (b) and (c) of Code section 2914. 
(f) Although the EPPP is and the CPSE are waived under this section, an applicant 
must file a complete application and meet all current licensing requirements not 
addressed above, including payment of any fees, take and pass the California 
Psychology Law and Ethics Examination (CPLEE), and not been subject to 
discipline. 

§ 1389. Reconsideration of Examinations. 
(a) There shall be no reconsideration of the grade received on the EPPP or on the 
CPSECPLEE. 
(b) Nothing in this section shall be construed to deprive an applicant of his or her 
rights of appeal as afforded by other provisions of law. 

§ 1392. Psychologist Fees. 
(a) The application fee for a psychologist is $40.00. 
(b) The fee for the California Psychology Supplemental Examination (CPSE) 
is $129.00. 
(b) (c) The fee for the California Psychology Law and Ethics Examination 
(CPLEE) is $129.00. 
(c) (d) An applicant taking or repeating either licensing examination shall pay the 
full fee for that examination. 
(d) (e) The initial license fee and the biennial renewal fee for a psychologist are 
$400.00, except that if an initial license will expire less than one year after its 
issuance, then the initial license fee is an amount equal to 50 percent of the renewal 
fee in effect on the last regular renewal date before the date on which the license is 
issued. 
(e) (f) The biennial renewal fee for an inactive license is $40.00. 


	16c Proposed Amendments re Examinations
	16c Cover Sheet
	16c New Regs



