

BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES, AND HOUSING AGENCY . GOVERNOR EDMUND G. BROWN JR.

 BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY – Administration

 1625 N. Market Blvd., N-215, Sacramento, CA 95834

 P (916) 574-7720
 F (916) 574-8671

 www.psychology.ca.gov



# MEMORANDUM

DATE	June 12, 2015
то	Board of Psychology Members
FROM	Jonathan Burke Administrative Services Coordinator
SUBJECT	Title 16, CCR, Sections 1388, 1388.6, 1389, 1392 – Examinations, License Requirements and Waiver of Examination, Reconsideration of Examinations, Psychologist Fees

# **Background:**

The proposed regulation will change the law and ethics examination that is taken by applicants for licensure. Currently, applicants take the California Psychology Supplemental Examination (CPSE), but this has been determined to be duplicative of certain knowledge points on the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP). The proposed change will instead require applicants to take the California Psychology Law and Ethics Examination (CPLEE).

The Board is also seeking to have regulations on the accommodations for English as Second Language (ESL) candidates. Currently, the Board has a policy, but this will place conditions in the regulations.

The hearing took place on August 22, 2014, at the Board meeting. The Board voted to modify the text to correct an error in the noticed language. A 15-Day Notice was issued and the Board delegated authority to the Executive Officer to adopt the language as modified when the comment period closed if no negative comments are received. The Board received no negative comments.

The Final Rulemaking File has been approved and filed with the Secretary of State on June 10, 2015. The regulations will come into effect on July 1, 2015.

## Action Requested:

This item is for informational purposes and no action is requested.

Attachment A is the newly adopted language

## **BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY Department of Consumer Affairs**

#### **ORDER OF ADOPTION**

Amend Sections 1388, 1388.6 and 1389 of Article 4 of Division 13.1 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations, and Section 1392 of Article 6 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations to read as follows:

#### § 1388. Examinations.

(a) The board recognizes the expertise of the Department of Consumer Affairs' (DCA) Office of Examination Resources (OER)Office of Professional Examination Services (OPES). The board shall utilize the services of the OER-OPES in licensing examination development and validation through an interagency agreement.

(b) An applicant shall successfully take and pass the licensing examinations prior to being licensed. The licensing examinations shall consist of the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards' (ASPPB) Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP), and the California Psychology Supplemental Examination (CPSE)California Psychology Laws and Ethics Examination (CPLEE), except that the EPPP and the CPSE shall be waived for those applicants who meet the criteria in section 1388.6 of this chapter. Such applicants shall be required to take and pass the California Psychology Law and Ethics Examination (CPLEE).

(c) An applicant is eligible to take the EPPP upon completion of a qualifying doctorate degree and 1500 hours of qualifying professional experience. An applicant shall pass the EPPP and complete all 3000 hours of supervised professional experience prior to being eligible for the CPSE or the CPLEE, pursuant to section 1388.6.

(d) Upon application, the board will notify applicants of their eligibility to take the EPPP. Applicants are responsible for completing any administrative requirements for taking the EPPP established by ASPPB or its agent, including paying any fees. This subsection applies to those re-taking the EPPP as well as to those taking it for the first time.

(e) For forms of the EPPP taken prior to September 1, 2001, the passing score is the score that was recognized by the board at that time. For computer administered forms of the EPPP, the board shall apply a scaled score of 500 as recommended by ASPPB.

(f) Qualified applicants desiring to take the CPSE or the CPLEE, for those applications who qualify for a waiver of the CPSE pursuant to section 1388.6, shall submit to the board the fee set forth in section 1392 of this chapter. Applicants shall comply with all instructions established by the DCA examination vendor for taking the CPSE or the CPLEE.

(g) The passing score on the CPSE and the CPLEE shall be determined for each form of the examination by a criterion referenced procedure performed by OEROPES.

(h) An applicant for whom English is his or her second language may be eligible for additional time when taking the EPPP and/or the CPLEE. The applicant must complete and submit a request for additional time that states under penalty of perjury that English is his or her second language. The Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) certification score of 85 or below must be sent by Educational Testing Service directly to the board. The TOEFL must have been taken within the previous two years prior to application. If approved, the applicant will be allotted time-and-a-half (1.5x) when taking the examination.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 2930 and 2942, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 123, 496, 2941, 2942, 2943 and 2960, Business and Professions Code.

### § 1388.6. License Requirements and Waiver of Examination.

(a) When a California-licensed psychologist has been licensed for at least five years and has allowed his/her license to expire cancel by not renewing the license for at least three years, the psychologist shall not be required to take the EPPP or the CPSE.

(b) If an applicant for licensure as a psychologist has been licensed in another state, Canadian province, or U.S. territory, for at least five years the applicant shall not be required to take the EPPP or the CPSE.

(c) An applicant for licensure as a psychologist who holds a Certificate of Professional Qualification (CPQ) issued by the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB), shall not be required to take the EPPP or the CPSE. Such an applicant shall be deemed to have met the educational and experience requirements of subdivisions (b) and (c) of Code section 2914.

(d) An applicant for licensure as a psychologist who is credentialed as a Health Service Provider in Psychology by the National Register of Health Service Providers in Psychology (NRHSPP) and has been licensed based on a doctoral degree in another state, Canadian province, or U.S. territory for a minimum of five years shall not be required to take the EPPP or the CPSE. Such an applicant shall be deemed to have met the educational and experience requirements of subdivisions (b) and (c) of Code section 2914.

(e) An applicant for licensure as a psychologist who is certified by the American Board of Professional Psychology (ABPP) and has been licensed based on a doctoral degree in another state, Canadian province, or U.S. territory for a minimum of five years shall not be required to take the EPPP-or the CPSE. Such an applicant shall be deemed to have met the educational and experience requirements of subdivisions (b) and (c) of Code section 2914.

(f) Although the EPPP is and the CPSE are waived under this section, an applicant must file a complete application and meet all current licensing requirements not addressed above, including payment of any fees, take and pass the California Psychology Law and Ethics Examination (CPLEE), and not been subject to discipline.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 2930 and 2946, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 2946, Business and Professions Code.

#### § 1389. Reconsideration of Examinations.

(a) There shall be no reconsideration of the grade received on the EPPP or on the CPSECPLEE.

(b) Nothing in this section shall be construed to deprive an applicant of his or her rights of appeal as afforded by other provisions of law.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 2930, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 2942 and 2944, Business and Professions Code.

# § 1392. Psychologist Fees.

(a) The application fee for a psychologist is \$40.00.

(b) The fee for the California Psychology Supplemental Examination (CPSE) is \$129.00.

(e) (b) The fee for the California Psychology Laws and Ethics Examination (CPLEE) is \$129.00.

(d) (c) An applicant taking or repeating either the licensing examination shall pay the full fee for that examination.

(e) (d) The initial license fee and the biennial renewal fee for a psychologist are \$400.00, except that if an initial license will expire less than one year after its issuance, then the initial license fee is an amount equal to 50 percent of the renewal fee in effect on the last regular renewal date before the date on which the license is issued.

(f) (e) The biennial renewal fee for an inactive license is \$40.00.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 2930, 2987 and 2989, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 2987, 2988 and 2989, Business and Professions Code.