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I STATE, CANADIAN PROVINCE, OR U.S. TERRITORY

When an applicant for licensure is already licensed as a psychologist at the doctoral level in another state, Canadian
province, or U.S. territory, what is required for California licensure depends on how long the applicant has been
licensed and what, if any, credential the applicant has acquired.

If an applicant is licensed in another state, Canadian province, or U.S. territory, he or she must take and pass the
California Psychology Laws and Ethics Exam (CPLEE). The Board of Psychology (Board) must receive the following for
approval to sit for the CPLEE:

« Application for Licensure as a Psychologist (www.psychology.ca.gov/forms_pubs/application.pdf)
+ Application fee of $40
+ CPLEE fee of $129

« Iflicensed less than five years: Verification of Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP)
score from the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB) (www.asppb.net)

« If licensed five or more years: Official Letter of Good Standing from the applicant’s licensing board
« Official doctoral transcript (directly from academic institution)

« Verification of 3,000 hours of supervised professional experience mailed directly from the primary
supervisor(s) (www.psychology.ca.gov/applicants/sup_agree.shtml)

If an applicant has been licensed for five or more years at the doctoral level in another state, Canadian province, or
U.S. territory, and possesses one of the following below, the requirements to provide documentation of education and
supervised professional experience are waived (section 1388.6(b),(d),(e) of the California Code of Regulations [CCR]):

+ Credentialed as a health service provider in psychology by the National Register of Health Service Providers
in Psychology (NRHSPP); or

« Certified by the American Board of Professional Psychology (ABPP).

Verification of the credential or certification must be submitted to the Board as well as an Official Letter of Good
Standing from the applicant’s licensing board.

If an applicant possesses the following below, the requirements to provide documentation of education and
supervised professional experience are waived (section 1388.6(c) of the CCR):

+ Certificate of Professional Qualification (CPQ) issued by ASPPB
Verification of the certificate must be submitted to the Board.

All applicants for licensure are required to submit fingerprint clearances from the California Department of Justice
and FBI (www.psychology.ca.gov/applicants/fingerprint.shtml), verification of the following listed prelicensure
courses, and the initial license fee of $400. An applicant can sit for the CPLEE before completing these requirements,
but they are required before the Board can issue a license.
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Human sexuality - 10 hours
Child abuse - Seven hours
Substance abuse - 15 hours if you began graduate training after September 1, 1985

Spousal/partner abuse training - Two hours if you began graduate training between January 1, 1995, and
December 31, 2003; 15 hours if you began graduate training after January 1, 2004

Aging/long-term care - 10 hours if you began graduate training after January 1, 2004

The Board's two-page Verification of Experience Form is used to verify all hours accrued outside of California.

Here is a link to the two-page form to document supervised experience earned outside of California:
www.psychology.ca.gov/forms_pubs/verification_experience.pdf. The form is to be completed by the primary
supervisor(s) and mailed by him or her directly to the Board. We will not accept the form sent to us directly from the
applicant. All hours of supervised experience must meet the requirements in section 1387 of the California Code of
Regulations that were in effect at the time the supervised experience was accrued.
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