

INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO RENEW

RENEWING A RESEARCH PSYCHOANALYST REGISTRATION

To renew your registration, the following documentation is required:

- Research Psychoanalyst/Student Research Psychoanalyst Registration Renewal application.
- · A statement signed by the registrar of your training institute. See Requirements on the next page.
- Renewal Fee

RENEWING A STUDENT RESEARCH PSYCHOANALYST REGISTRATION

To renew your registration, the following documentation is required:

- Research Psychoanalyst/Student Research Psychoanalyst Registration Renewal application.
- Verification of continuing student status from the registrar or similar official of the psychoanalytic institute attended. See Requirements on the next page.
- · Renewal Fee.

Do not mail a renewal application to the Board more than 75 days prior to the expiration date of your license or your application form and payment will be returned.

The biennial renewal fee is \$75.00.

MAIL COMPLETED FORM, SIGNED REGISTRAR STATEMENT AND FEE(S) TO:

Board of Psychology

1625 North Market Blvd., Suite N-215 Sacramento, CA 95834

Make certified checks, cashier's checks, money orders, or personal checks payable to the Board of Psychology.

To renew an unexpired registration, the registrant shall, on or before the date of which it would otherwise expire, apply for renewal on a form provided by the Board, accompanied by a required verification and the prescribed renewal fee.

APPLICATION PROCESSING TIME

The processing time for renewals is expected to take approximately 4–6 weeks. Upon approval of your renewal, you may verify your status on BreEZe at **https://search.dca.ca.gov**.

ADDRESS OF RECORD AND EMAIL INFORMATION

The address of record (AOR) is public information available to anyone who requests it from the Board or looks up your license information online via BREEZE. Your AOR will be the address to which all Board correspondence (e.g., renewal applications, newsletters, etc.) will be sent. The Board recommends you do not use your residence address as your AOR because that address will be accessible to the public. Your phone number and email address are for the Board's internal use to contact you about your license or registration. This information will not be released to the public, nor will it be displayed online. If there are any changes to your email or mailing address or AOR, please update your information in BREEZE at www.breeze.ca.gov.



REQUIREMENTS

CONVICTION/DISCIPLINE

As a condition of renewing your research psychoanalyst registration, you must disclose on the renewal application any convictions or discipline since you last renewed: (1) Have you been convicted of, or plead guilty or nolo contendere to any criminal or civil offense in the United States, its territories, or a foreign country? This includes every citation, infraction (including traffic violations resulting in fines more than \$500), misdemeanor and/or felony. Convictions that were adjudicated in the juvenile court or convictions under California Health and Safety Code sections 11357 (b), (c), (d), (e), or section 11360 (b) which are two years or older should NOT be reported. Convictions that were later dismissed pursuant to sections 1203.4. 1203.4a, 1203.41 of the California Penal Code or equivalent non-California law MUST be disclosed; or (2) Have you had any license or registration disciplined by a government agency or other disciplinary body? Discipline includes, but is not limited to, suspension, revocation, voluntary surrender, probation, reprimand, or any other restriction on a license or registration held.

If you answer "yes" to the conviction and/or discipline question, complete the Conviction/License Disciplinary Action Form. The form can be accessed from the Board's website at **www.psychology.ca.gov**.

Proof of Dismissal: If you have obtained a dismissal of your convictions(s) pursuant to Penal Code sections 1203.4, 1203.4a, or 1203.41, please submit a certified copy of the court order dismissing the conviction(s) with your application.

FINGERPRINT REQUIREMENTS

For a registration that expires after December 31, 2010, as a condition of renewal, an applicant for renewal not previously fingerprinted for the Board of Psychology, or for whom an electronic record of the submission of the fingerprints does not exist in the Department of Justice's criminal offender record identification database, is required to furnish to the Department of Justice, as directed by the Board, a full set of fingerprints for the purpose of conducting a criminal history record check and to undergo a state and federal level criminal history information search conducted through the Department of Justice. Failure to submit a full set of fingerprints to the Department of Justice on or before the date required for renewal of a license or registration is grounds for discipline by the Board. Licensees identified by the Board as having no electronic record will be notified by mail.

STATEMENT OF CURRENT ENROLLMENT OR COMPLETION OF TRAINING:

If you are currently registered as a student, and you must submit one of the following with your renewal application:

- 1) A statement signed by the registrar of the training institute certifying you are currently enrolled in psychoanalytic training.
- 2) A statement signed by the registrar of the training institute certifying the date you completed training.



FAMILY SUPPORT LEGISLATION

Assembly Bill 1394 (Speier) was signed into law by Governor Pete Wilson on May 8, 1992, to require the collection of Social Security numbers for purposes of compliance with any judgment or order for family support. The bill authorizes the issuance of a temporary license to applicants for initial or renewal license who are not in compliance with any judgment or order for family support. If compliance has not been established prior to the expiration of the temporary license, the license shall be denied pursuant to section 11350.6 of the Welfare and Institutions Code.

NOTICE OF STATE TAX OBLIGATION

Pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 494.5, the state Board of Equalization and the Franchise Tax Board may share taxpayer information with a board. California law requires you to pay your state tax obligation. If you fail to pay your state tax obligation, your license may be suspended.

SEXUAL MISCONDUCT WITH A PATIENT

Business & Professions Code section 2960.1 was enacted January 1, 1995, and mandates revocation of a license. if an administrative law judge determines that sexual contact occurred between a licensee/registrant and a patient.

INFORMATION COLLECTION AND ACCESS

The information requested on this application is mandatory and is maintained by the executive officer of the Board of Psychology, 1625 North Market Blvd., Suite N-215, Sacramento, CA 95833, (916) 574-7720. Information provided may be transferred to other governmental and enforcement agencies as may be necessary to permit the Board, or the transferee agency, to perform its statutory or constitutional duties, or otherwise transferred or disclosed as provided by the Information Practices Act. Certain information provided may be disclosed to a member of the public, upon request, under the California Public Records Act. Disclosure of your social security number is mandatory, and collection is authorized by BPC §30 and §31. Your Social Security number will be used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes and investigations of violations of cash-pay reporting laws as set forth in the Unemployment Insurance Code §329 or for verification of licensure or examination status by a licensing or examination board. If you fail to disclose your Social Security number, you may be reported to the Franchise Tax Board and be assessed a penalty of \$100 Pursuant to BPC §31(e), the state Board of Equalization and the Franchise Tax Board may share taxpayer information with the Board and if a registrant does not pay his or her state tax obligation, the registration may be suspended.

CONTACT INFORMATION

For questions about this notice or access to your records, you may contact the executive officer of the California Board of Psychology, 1625 North Market Boulevard, Suite N-215, Sacramento, CA 95834; by phone at (916) 574-7720; or by email at **bopmail@dca.ca.gov**. For questions about the Department's Privacy Policy, you may contact the California Department of Consumer Affairs at 1625 North Market Boulevard, Sacramento, CA 95834; by phone at (800) 952-5210; or by email at **dca@dca.ca.gov**.



RESEARCH PSYCHOANALYST		
STUDENT RESEARCH PSYCHOANALYST		
RESEARCH PSYCHOANALYST OR STUDENT RESEARCH	PSYCHOANALYST'S INFORMATION:	
Name of Research or Student Research Psychoanalyst	Research or Student Research Psychoanalyst Registration Number	
Registration Expiration Date	Research or Student Research Psychoanalyst Email	
CONVICTION/DISCIPLINE: Since you last renewed your license—omitting traffic infractions under \$500 not involving alcohol, a dangerous drug, or a controlled substance—have you been convicted of any violations of law in California or any other state, the United States or its territories, military court, or other country, or have you been disciplined by a government agency or other disciplinary body? (16 CCR 1381.7(c), (d).)		Yes* No
* If you answer yes to the conviction question, please send certi	ified copies of the court records to the address above.	
FINGERPRINT REQUIREMENT: Have you complied with the Fingerprint Requirement as described on page 2 of this application?		
STATEMENT OF CURRENT ENROLLMENT OR COMPLETION OF TRAINING: Included with this application is a signed statement from the registrar of the training institute certifying your current enrollment or the date you completed training.		
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of	f California that the foregoing is true and correct.	
Signature:	Date:	

www.psychology.ca.gov

P (916) 574-7720 / **F** (916) 574-8671 1625 North Market Blvd. N-215, Sacramento, CA 95834 CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING



PDE_25-034 Revised 2/2025